The European Balcony Project

On the 10th of November 2018 at 4 p.m. citizens all over the continent will gather at a single moment in time to spark a broad debate about European democracy and what it means to be European citizens. From theatres, balconies and public spaces all over Europe, artists and citizens will proclaim a European Republic, discuss, and pave the way for the emancipatory claim of citizens’ equality beyond the nation-state. Political equality for all European citizens is at the heart of the idea.

The European Balcony Project was initiated by the European Democracy Lab and realized with the support of numerous citizens across Europe. Ulrike Guérot, professor of European Politics and the Study of Democracy, is the founder of the European Democracy Lab.

More information can be found on and

For a United Europe

On Saturday, October 13th 2018, people gathered in more than 50 European cities to stand up for a united Europe. was initiated by the Swiss-German writer Jonas Lüscher and the Austrian philosopher Michael Zichy. According to them the unity of Europe is our best guarantee for peace, freedom and the rights of people. Individuals as well as organisations followed their call and planned demonstrations, discussions and other colourful events dedicated to a democratic, peaceful and tolerant Europe.

The most northern city where people were involved was Eskilstuna in Sweden. Lisbon was the most western outpost, Nicosia, Cyprus the most southern (and at the same time most eastern) one. On October 11th an event organized by a group of artists took place in Minsk, Belarus. Moreover groups and many individuals in Austria, the Czech Republic, France, Germany,  Hungary, Italy, Poland, Spain, and Switzerland joined forces. It is estimated that e.g. in Berlin about 250.000 people took to the streets.

Extended Core Team Meeting

On August 29th the extended core team of Co-Creating Europe met in Frankfurt-Niederursel. Annette Kaiser, Thomas Steininger, Sonja Student, Griet Hellinckx and Stephan Ley were happy to welcome Anne-Marie Voorhoeve, Bence Ganti and Anders Nyberg as the “extension” to the core team. It was a very fruitful, joyful and inspiring meeting.

29 People from 17 European Countries Engaged in a Collective Inquiry

During the months and weeks before the meeting in Frankfurt the core group of Co-Creating Europe had sent out invitations including the project’s manifesto to people from all over Europe. They were looking for networkers, solutionaries and disseminators from as many European countries as possible; people from all age groups who are rooted in Presence and who feel the necessity for action from that place; people who love Europe and who recognise the need for a new culture, as well as a renewed sense of European identity.

From the 9th till the 11th of March 2018 twenty-nine wonderful people gathered in Frankfurt – bonding, reflecting and co-creating : Brigitte Wingelmayr (Austria), Helen Titchen Beeth (Belgium, UK), Zhivko Stoilov (Bulgaria), Barbara Torggler (Austria), Elizabeth Debold (Germany, USA), Thomas Steininger (Germany, Austria), Sonja Student (Germany), Griet Hellinckx (Germany, Belgium), Stephan Ley (Germany), Barbara von Meibom (Germany), Hilde Weckmann (Germany, Austria), Bence Ganti (Hungary, USA), Ágota Éva Rusza (Hungary), Arni Heidar Karlsson (Iceland), Teresa Noce (Italy), Alise Skupele (Latvia), Marie-Rose Fritz (Luxemburg), Anne-Marie Voorhoeve (the Netherlands), Lysan Boshuyzen (The Netherlands), Maciek Gutkowski (Poland), Pavel Luksha (Russia), Domen Kocevar (Slovenia), Joserra González (Spain), Anders Nyberg (Sweden, South-Africa), Annette Kaiser (Switzerland), Cecile Cassini (Switzerland), Marian Brehmer (Turkey, Germany), and Aslinur Brehmer-Akdeniz (Turkey).

Fourteen people, who would have loved being there, had to prioritise other tasks. They are staying in the loop and are thus adding to the range of countries represented in this growing field: Carolyn Lee (Ireland, Australia), Damir Saciragic (Bosnia), George Pór (UK, Hungary), Ivan Fomin (Russia), Jasenka Gojsic (Croatia), Jasmin Egger (Liechtenstein), Jordí Cartanya (Spain), Kalypso Nicolaidis (UK, Greece, France), Lev Gordon (Russia), Marco Robledo (Spain), Nora Ganescu (Slovakia, Romenia, Hungary), Shelley Sacks (UK, South-Africa), Stephen Busby (UK), Timo Pfender (Germany) and Wolfgang Aurose (USA, Germany).